Posted by: absolutevoid | ഡിസംബര്‍ 21, 2014

Manjaro and the trusted keys!

Had an experimental Manjaro install, the other month. As it is a rolling release distro, tightly following arch linux, I had to update in once in a while. So I did the usual:

$ sudo pacman -Syu

updates for 98 packages were available and was downloaded. As it went to installation, nothing could be installed. Repeatedly, I started getting errors. It was like this:

Error: key “Seblu <seblu@seblu.net>” could not be imported
Error: key “Rob McCathie <korrode@gmail.com>” could not be imported
Error: key “Felix Yan <i@felixc.at>” could not be imported
Error: key “Andreas Radke <andyrtr@archlinux.org>” could not be imported
Error: key “Bartlomiej Piotrowski <b@bpiotrowski.pl>” could not be imported
Error: key “Jan Alexander Steffens (heftig) <jan.steffens@gmail.com>” could not be imported
Error: key “Tobias Powalowski <tpowa@archlinux.org>” could not be imported
Error: key “Evangelos Foutras <foutrelis@gmail.com>” could not be imported
Error: key “Eric Belanger <eric@archlinux.org>” could not be imported
Error: key “Gaetan Bisson <bisson@nsup.org>” could not be imported
Error: key “Alexander Rødseth <rodseth@gmail.com>” could not be imported
Error: key “Guillaume ALAUX <galaux@linagora.com>” could not be imported
Error: key “Andrea Scarpino <bash.lnx@gmail.com>” could not be imported
Error: key “Florian Pritz <f-p@gmx.at>” could not be imported
Error: key “Daniel Micay <danielmicay@gmail.com>” could not be imported
Error: key “Laurent Carlier <lordheavym@gmail.com>” could not be imported
Error: key “Thomas Bächler <thomas@archlinux.org>” could not be imported
Error: key “Philip Müller (Called Little) <philm@manjaro.org>” could not be imported
Error: key “Alexandru Ianu <alexandru@manjaro.org>” could not be imported
Error: key “Ramon Buldó <ramon@manjaro.org>” could not be imported
Error: key “Massimiliano Torromeo (Personal non-work identity) <massimiliano.torromeo@gmail.com>” could not be imported
Error: required key missing from keyring

Okay. What should I do, ideally? Answer was in archlinux wiki.

First, running entropy:

from $ prompt, run: ls -R /

now from root,

# pacman-key --init

Now the master keys should be verified:

# pacman-key --populate archlinux

okay, fine. This is from arch linux. But will it be okay to get those specially baked packages for manjaro? No, never. So another step:

# pacman-key --populate manjaro

You have done the final step. Now run pacman -Syu again.

So this is like a child play. Enjoy.

(NB: Chakra does not have this much trust deficit.)

Advertisements

ഒരു മറുപടി കൊടുക്കുക

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / മാറ്റുക )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / മാറ്റുക )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / മാറ്റുക )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / മാറ്റുക )

വിഭാഗങ്ങള്‍

%d bloggers like this: